- Special Offers
Termonfeckin (Irish: Tearmann Feichín) is a small picturesque village and parish in County Louth. It is located some 8km (five miles) north-east of Drogheda. Tradition has it that a medieval monastery was founded in the village by St. Feichin of Fore in the 7th century.
The extant castle in Termonfeckin is a 15th or 16th century tower house of 3 storeys, with good trefoil headed windows. Its most unusual feature is the corbelled roof, similar to the technique used for the Newgrange chamber roof, which is on the third storey. This castle was damaged in the Irish Rebellion of 1641 but was later repaired by a Captain Brabazon. It is now a National Monument.
Termonfeckin is primarily dependent on the farming industry, however tourism also plays a large part, and the proximity of Baltray (County Louth GC) and Seapoint golf courses attract many visitors.